Review for Nothing Like the First Time by Keren Hughes

22247765
The author was amazing enough to send me copies of book 1 and 2 in this series in exchange for my honest review. So, here it goes!
“I really do love you with all my heart. Every beat seems to echo your name.”
I really wanted to love this book! So so so much! But sadly, I didn’t. I’ll start with what I liked.
I loved Grey more than anybody else in this book. He had a down to earth feel about him and I only really stuck around for him.
Now here are the reasons why it didn’t get three stars or more.
The story picks up after Grey has been gone for 10 years. I would have loved to get a taste of his relationship with Carls before he left so I could feel the evolution of their relationship after it picked up again. I felt like I got robbed. Also, Carls handled the reunion with her mother like an immature teenager. The book focused too much on sex scenes and song titles than an actual plot. There wasn’t much of a plot twist. I’m sorry but I will not consider that hiccup a plot twist. This story was hard to get through and it was too cheesy. These two characters were awfully dependent on each other in order to be happy. I get it, you are in love. But you are also two different people. I don’t know about all of you, but my biggest pet peeve is when someone relies on a significant other to live life to the fullest. I’m glad I gave this a try but I won’t be picking up the next book anytime soon. Maybe the end of the month.

2.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

