Review for Breathe In by Martha Sweeney!

25519127

*I got sent a file the arc file from the author for an honest review.*
“Breathe Emma. Just breathe.”
Oh, Martha. Why do you do this to me?
That ending…I cried. No shame. I cried from the loss I felt at reaching the end of this beautiful story. I kept clicking for the next page but it never came.
Okay, so let me just say I love, LOVE ,the writing in this story! It is immensely rich in details and it makes you take a step back and cherish every word thrown at you. You can easily tell Martha poured her heart and soul into this story. I completely loved it! I’ve had a little too many easy reads to last me all year already and I’m glad this was not the case! Martha helped me build a unique bond with the main character, Emma, that I haven’t had the chance to do anywhere else. And the character development was out of this world! So if you’re in the mood for a book that will make you think twice about speeding through, this is the one for you!
The characters are wonderfully complex and felt so very real! I felt like there was a possibility of running into them if I ever decide to visit Pasadena. They have unique professions and I love how today’s obsession with technology is engraved into the story too. You also get an inside look into the Chinese culture which I appreciated a lot.
I also love it when characters have a pet in a story. I have one myself and it’s just wonderful to see a side of the characters that wouldn’t normally leave the privacy of their home. Sadie is adorable and I laughed so hard at her silly antics!
There were several spelling errors but I’m not going to dwell on those. The only thing I disliked was that I didn’t get enough of Joe! This story is told only in Emma’s point of view so we have limited Joe-time. I couldn’t get into his head which made him that much of a mystery. It only made me fall that much harder for him! I just love Joe. He’s up there on my top 10 male characters. Ugh. I NEED more Joe! I just can’t wait for the next books! Pick this up, I dare you. You won’t regret it!

5/5 stars!

4 responses to “Review for Breathe In by Martha Sweeney!

  1. Pingback: Book Mail: Week 2 (9/12/15-9/27/17) | cassandrareadsalot

  2. Pingback: Review for Breathe Out by Martha Sweeney! | cassandrareadsalot

Leave a Reply

