Review for The 52nd by Dela!

23255448

*I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for a review.*
“I’d kiss her hard and not let her slip away, because I never wanted anyone but her to call my name.”
Buy. This. Book.
It has it all. Action, romance, suspense, culture plus so much more. There are sacrifices to be made in every extent of the word.
Zara is a mature heroine who’s life is threatened by a world she knows nothing about. It’s up to Lucas, an immortal prince, to keep her alive while breaking a tradition as old as time that will anger the Gods and bring everything he has ever known crashing down upon them. This story changes POV’s between Lucas and Zara which adds to the depth of their relationship. There are some gruesome aspects in this story which make every word real, considering I don’t doubt it was what happened back in those times. Two different worlds crash together and it’s an exceptionally thrilling ride to witness.
This story hit me personally since I have always had a soft spot for the Aztec and Mayan culture. Especially since my roots aren’t so far from theirs. Plus, I learned to speak Spanish before English so it was a surreal experience reading in my original tongue. I also found myself falling for yet another male character, Lucas, and his Spanish endearments are now my kryptonite. I found myself laughing and crying along with the characters through every page.
I love stories that include anything about Gods and immortals which made this book right up my alley. I put my life on hold for this book because I didn’t want to do anything else but devour every word. As soon as the book was out of my grasp, I found myself yearning for more! (ahem* Lucas *ahem*)
This story is phenomenal, unique, and a precious treasure to own. My love for this is indescribable. This book is over 400 pages long but I did not feel it since everything flowed so smoothly. In fact, I wish it were longer! Dela is an incredible and immensely talented author. I can’t believe this is a debut novel! This story is one of the best I have ever read and I will treasure it with my life. I know the characters and their story will stick with me for years to come. I already find myself wanting to reread it. Thank you so much Dela! You have blown my mind away!

6/5 stars!

One response to “Review for The 52nd by Dela!

  1. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: Beyond the Neon Shore by Dela! |

Leave a Reply

