Review for How to Knit a Heart Back Home by Rachel Herron!

8585007

“How could her heart hurt so much and still keep beating?”
Oh. My. Goodness!!! This book is so perfect! It intrigued me from the first page and I couldn’t tear my eyes away, not that I wanted to anyway. This is the first book I have read from Rachel and I know it’s the second in the series but it honestly made no difference. I was hooked and nothing was confusing. Could very well be a standalone if I didn’t know it was part of a series. This was also my first read about knitting and I’m glad to say I didn’t mind! I felt like I loved knitting just as much as Lucy by the way she would speak about it.I swear I could hear the passion in her voice. It surprised me how much I related to her although I’ve never picked up needles in my life. The story line is just so easy to submerge into, you can’t help yourself.
Since the beginning of the story, the main characters are going through their own hell and it’s a marvelous and joyful ride to see them grow. The character developments were so heartwarming that I teared up at the end. My cheeks are still hurting from smiling so much!
I loved every second of Lucy’s and Owen’s relationship. They went through difficulties trying to find themselves and each other and the ending was the best I could have asked for. I squealed when I flipped the page and found out I was getting Owen’s point of view through the book too! Gah, gotta love being in a man’s mind. Especially a man trying to be a better version of who he used to be.
All of the characters are incredibly hilarious and so uniquely rare… It’s just what I would expect from people in a small town. (Books like these make me want to live in one!)
Oh, and Lucy being an owner of a bookstore was just the cherry on the already incredible sundae. There’s a part int he book that mentions J.R. Ward (a favorite author of mine) and I couldn’t help and smile widely. It was also a great joy to read about the habit of Lucy comparing people to books! I might begin doing just that since it might make it easier to understand them haha.
There wasn’t anything I didn’t love about this book. It was refreshing and I am so glad I picked it up!

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

