Review for The Darkest Light by Ashley Earley!

25531912

*Copy provided in exchange for honest review*

I deeply enjoyed this debut novel! It was not what I expected, in a good way. Mythical creatures came to life and I was so shocked! The main character was battling depression at the beginning and it made it easy for me to relate to her off the bat. The imagination put into the world-building was precious!
On the other hand, little bits were repetitive with some grammar errors. I wasn’t too sure that what Wesley and Alyssa had was “love” but there was definitely a bond there. I was bummed not to have seen much of Archer but oh well, I was glad he was in the story at all. It didn’t really look like Alyssa had any feelings for Archer, she only thought about Wesley and that’s fine with me but I just wouldn’t call it a love triangle. Also, nobody learns to shoot an arrow and wield a sword so expertly in a day so that made it a little unbelievable that she was battling at all. There were some unanswered questions too but nothing monumental.
Technicalities and love triangles aside, for a debut, I enjoyed it immensely! I wasn’t let down! This was a light and fun read.
I would definitely read more of Ashley!

3.7/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

