Review for The Cat’s Maw by Brooke Burgess!

23247631

*Book provided in exchange for an honest review*
Wow. I don’t even know where to start! This has been a long journey for this book and me. From Kindle to paperback but I am so glad I didn’t give up on it!
Brooke’s writing style is marvelous and mystical. He created a world no other author has come close to touching. The descriptions were so perfect I could practically hear them and feel them as I read.
The characters he created are so unique (emphasis on ‘unique’) and easy to relate to, no matter your age or gender.
The main character, Billy, is a delightfully eerie kid and there were times where I wanted to shove his mom aside (forcefully) and hug him and tell him how special he really is. He’s younger than I’m used to reading but I loved every second of his experiences. My heart broke for him but he also gained my utmost respect. He never gave up on his strange journey and kept his humor in tact no matter how many times he was brought down. He has more courage than many real people I have met.
The illustrations in this were fascinating! If I weren’t already flipping the pages for the story, I would’ve been just to see the next picture!
The build-up was so perfect and I was kept guessing the entire way.
And that ending just broke me. Brooke, did you really have to hit us with that?! I honestly shed tears at the end. I wasn’t a cat person before this but I think I’m being broken down.
Anyway, I need the second book asap! I have to know what happens next… I miss these characters so much.

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

