Review for The Harem by Tom Sweeney!

22884757

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
“Be proud of the fabric of who you are.”
If I had to choose one single sentence that describes what I learned from this book, that quote would be it. This is a magnificent book and I am so proud to have read it. It’s been a long journey but that doesn’t mean I enjoyed it any less than I would a short one. This book wasn’t only enjoyable, it was truly a learning experience. It’s extremely detail oriented and this was one of those rare books that successfully painted a picture in my mind without any effort in my part. Thomas’ intellect flows into ever word and it’s difficult not to put him in the same pedestal that Susan puts Robert.
This book makes you think from the very first word. It makes you question everything you know, even about yourself. To be honest, I needed this book. If you want your life to be turned on its axis, then this is the book for you. It definitely had a massive impact on me. It goes without saying that this book isn’t meant to read quickly, but to be cherished. Although, I must admit that when I reached the last part of the book, I couldn’t flip the pages fast enough. It was so intense and it had me super emotional.
The main character journeys through an outstanding development rarely seen in today’s books. I was definitely proud of being able to read about it. She’s so empowering that I couldn’t help but feel the same way. This story will always be close to my heart and even now I feel like a piece of me is missing. I miss it that much. I’ve got to say, this felt more like an autobiography since a large part of me believed all of it was true.
Also, Charles was pretty badass. That man is something else!
All I have to say is… where is this Montgomery building and where do I apply?

One response to “Review for The Harem by Tom Sweeney!

  1. Pingback: Book Mail: Week 2 (9/12/15-9/27/17) | cassandrareadsalot

Leave a Reply

