Review for Mexican Eskimo by Anker Frankoni!

22056739

*Copy provided in exchange for honest review*
Okay, keyword being honesty, I will admit that I had the most difficulty getting into this book. Anker mixes fiction and non-fiction to the point where I didn’t know what to believe or not believe. In the end, I grew to admire it. It’s been a long few months but I would be lying if I say I don’t already miss this book.
I was beyond speechless when I finished this.
This story is rich in culture and so heart-breakingly intense. Intensity like no other considering everything is super straight forward. At times I was a bit put off by them but I powered through and I am so glad I did. I can NOT believe the emotions this sparked in me. Anker has a brutally honest way with words that is difficult to get out of your head after the last word is read. This book is emotionally heavy and the cover makes perfect sense to me now. This is not recommended for younger people since it is straight forward and blunt about many things. Nothing is sugar coated and I respect Anker so much for having the guts to write this… apology letter.
The fact that he mentioned my hometown (San Jose) built an automatic deeper connection with me. Anker, you are incredible. I am honestly dying to know more.

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

