Review for When Faults Collide by Claire Granger

25452994

*Book provided in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first book by Claire and I will start with what I didn’t like.
This got too cheesy, too fast. The dialogue seemed more like a text message sometimes and it was… irking. I really, really wished they had acted their age. At times, I felt like I was reading an early high school romance. I didn’t like the fact that almost all the characters were portrayed a hair away from IDENTICAL! That prevented the book from having the diversity every book should have. I didn’t believe one second that the relationship between the two main characters was real. Too much happened way TOO fast and that’s just isn’t how it’s done. It makes me so sad to see authors, more often than not, go that route. It’s a huge cop out and I just wished they knew what they were doing to us. There was also the craze with the internet involved, and I didn’t like that the main character kept over-sharing her life experiences. I know she’s a blogger and all, but there’s a line…
Oh, and there was the ultimate no-no that prevented me from giving this 3 stars. There. is. no. such. thing. as an ’emo’ genre. It’s a label and one I do not care for. I am very passionate about how the music I like is portrayed and this book almost made me go into a raging episode.
I get that this book was meant to shine a light into the darker aspects of human life but the characters didn’t let me grasp the potential of it. I just found myself wanting to get this over with as soon as possible.
What I loved about this book was the main character’s dad. He was definitely a man in every definition of the word. He stepped up and took responsibility, just how everybody should. I was in awe of him. This book is physically flawless, but the inside didn’t cut it for me. All in all, I am glad to have given this a try.

2/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

