Review for My Lea by E. Mellyberry

25105652

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review.”

I always choose a quote from the books I fall in love with the most but you guys have no idea what a challenge it was with this one. So I didn’t choose, instead I will write an essay that I hope will convey at least a bit of what I went through.

This was my first book by E. and I am… completely and utterly in awe of her. It was painful to read and painful to put down. This book had me laughing uncontrollably from the very start that my cheeks even went numb. The main characters are both Indonesian, Andrew has lived in America longer than Lea, and E. made me fall in love with their banter from the start. It’s rare when I ship two characters this intensely but I was rooting for them since day 1.
The journey these two took me on was one I will never, EVER forget. Their emotions were so loud and heart shattering that I found it difficult not to experience their feelings as my own. The pages and ink disappeared, leaving me helpless as I became Lea… and it was incredibly agonizing. I don’t know how I would’ve handled the things she went through. The way she handled them shows what a tremendously admirable character she is and everyone should learn from her. Even me.
This was a dual POV and I could not have been happier for it… or more angry!!!! I always, always, know if I love a character or not… but that was before I stumbled upon this book. My heart is completely torn and I don’t know what to do with myself. I’ve never felt like this before. Andrew: I hate him. I despise him. I pity him. I’m terrified of him… but I can’t help it, I think I’m in love with him.
I also loved the fact that this referenced V from V for Vendetta. I love that man and his sexy mask!
Like I said before, 5 stars will never, ever be enough. I have no idea what to rate this. This is not a work of a debut author… this was too magnificent. This book struck me profoundly. I had (still do) the worst book hangover even before I was close to finishing this book. It manipulated me and has left me feeling like a rag doll. It threw my heart out the window. It devastated me, broke me, and brought plenty of sorrow to last me a lifetime. But it also made me ecstatic and proud. It goes without saying that I was in tears for the entire thing.
If you’re reading this, and are over the age of 18, I recommend this to you. Be cautious, this is a grenade. Once the pin is off, there’s nothing you can do to prevent the explosion coming your way.

Too many stars to count/5 stars!

One response to “Review for My Lea by E. Mellyberry

  1. Pingback: BLOG TOUR: I Won’t Break by E. Mellyberry!! |

Leave a Reply

