Review for Discovering April by Sheena Hutchinson

5x8Template

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review.*
3.5 stars!
This was the first book I read by Sheena and I enjoyed it for the most pat. I thought it to be a little too corny at times and a little… immature. The way the characters interacted would’ve been appropriate for somebody still in high school. The only thing making this a NA romance was the sexual content and their living status. There were also some things that were left unanswered. Like the author forgot where the story was going, maybe?
This book was hilarious but I just couldn’t get past all the exclamation marks. I liked Jared mostly. Yes, he would act like a high schooler too but he had his moments. The declaration of feelings was a little too quick for me too and it made me question everything about their relationship. I’m not proud of it though. I wish there had been more… depth. The conversations were a little shallow for the most part. I just love it when characters really dig deep. I think it was because I’ve seen this plot before that I couldn’t relate to it.
I fully regret that I just couldn’t like April for the life of me. Her personality felt forced to me and I found myself rolling my eyes at her than enjoying the plot. She was a complete dram queen, again, suited for somebody in high school. She yelled so much and just automatically jumped to conclusions, it wasn’t fun.
What had me giving this almost 4 stars was that the plot definitely had my pulse racing million miles a minute at the end. Especially when I stumbled into the page before the Acknowledgements…
All I’m going to say is that I NEED to read the other series by Sheena! I need to know what that was all about!!

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

