Review for The Brown House by Christy Sloat!

14060081

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

This is the second book I read by Christy and I loved it! I’ve been wanting to read this ever since I saw the cover for it. I am in love with that house!! I am a lover of creepy houses and Christy told me her husband used to live there! I almost died. I absolutely love Christy’s writing. The way she described the house and its surroundings made me fall in love even more than I already was!! I found myself wanting to crawl into the pages just to experience it all in person. I love stories that take place in small towns and this had it! The main character, Brylee, is likable from the start. I also related to her since she’s from California but had to move to New Jersey. She’s the most respectful daughter I have ever read about and I admired her character a lot.
Now about the plot, the house is haunted by a cursed family and my heart went out to all of them. It was incredibly sad to read about what they went through. I loved the explanations Christy had for the paranormal phenomena happening in the house. The fact that she incorporated family trees in the beginning was super helpful too since I had the opportunity go back to them whenever I had a question. The way that the book left off was heart-breaking. The situation Brylee’s going through is too sad for words. I just hope it all works out because my heart is breaking for her!! I seriously need to know what happens next!

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

