Review for The Doctor’s Daughter by Vanessa Matthews!

25756255

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

“The greater the independence the greater the hysteria”

There were many quotes in here that surprised me but this one stuck to me the most. This was the first book I have read by Vanessa and oh my goodness, it was so good! I don’t recommend this to those under 18 because there are topics and situations not suited for them. Also, if you are dealing with depression, this may be a trigger for you.
I was completely blown away by this woman. Honestly, it took me some time to get into this book, it wasn’t it’s fault, I have been dealing with one of the worst slumps ever but when I found myself picking this baby up, I read quite a chunk of it at a time. It’s quick to get through and it had me losing myself for a while. With that said, as soon as I reached a particular part by the last chunk of the book, I couldn’t put it down for anything. This story is nothing short of tragedy, depression, devastation and darkness. I loved it. The chapters transitions into various characters but focuses mainly on Marta. Every character had such a strong voice that it was difficult not to listen to them, and believe in them, even if they were in the wrong.
Like I mentioned, this book follows Marta, the daughter of a psychiatrist living in a man’s world that is 1927 in Vienna. Her journey sparks questions about everything dealing with life: For example, the way we eat, how we eat, and why we eat it. Marta has learned to dissect actions and I respect her for everything she went through. I still can’t believe the gem I just read.
I was scared of this book from the moment I started it. I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop and when it did… I learned I never even saw it coming. Those plot twists were so unbelievably dark, I was astounded at the intricate web Vanessa wove. I was more than satisfied with the ending of this book, I recommend it if you’re up to it!

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

