Review for Coral & Bone by Tiffany Daune!

21826050

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

The moment I found out this was about mermaids, I was intrigued! I have the most insane addiction with water and almost anything that has to do with it, mermaids included! This was the first book I have read by Tiffany and I had some mixed feelings about it.
To begin with, the characters were a lot younger than expected (Halen, the main character, is 15). At first I thought her to be a little bratty and immature but I didn’t hold it too much against her because of her age. I couldn’t expect her to be all grown-up so soon. In this book, Halen must overcome her emotions and go into a mission and a world, Elosia, that she had no knowledge of. She feels emotions to her core and after I saw her character developing a bit, I started to forget her age. Sometimes she surprised me with her quick words.
This book alternates POV’s between Halen and Tage, her family member. At first, I was confused as to why this was necessary but by the end I understood perfectly. Some things were too rushed, impeding me from experiencing the shock factor I like so much and I saw a couple of things coming too.
My favorite character was Ezra. Oh, my goodness! That guy was hilarious! He’s from Japan and he made this book pass by way too quickly for me. I was flipping the pages waiting for more of his dialogue. I just couldn’t get enough.
There were some spelling errors that had me rereading sentences in order to understand what was trying to be said but even after my mixed emotions, the last half and that cliffhanger at the end made me almost give it 5 stars. I sort of saw it coming but not really since apparently I was left speechless and wanting more! I am dying for book two, I need to solve the mystery that is Asair. I am loving his character as much as Ezra’s.
4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

