Review for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin!

11408650

Okay, so I have been DYING to read this trilogy ever since I heard there were creepy aspects in it and the hype around it is insane. I was waiting until I found a job and could purchase the trilogy myself, but then I found out that there was a copy of it in a Kindle I got as a gift!!! As soon as I saw the title, I clicked it, and everything else was forgotten.
I was a little disappointed to find out that I didn’t find it creepy but I did find it suspenseful, which works amazing either way.
The prologue is absolutely fascinating. It draws you in from the start and I couldn’t tear my eyes away, not that I wanted to. I read this entire thing in one sitting and I have no regrets!
This story follows Mara and the tragedy that happened in her hometown with her friends. She does not remember what exactly happened that night but it makes the story even better. We get to follow Mara as her memories of that night start to resurface and I kept being blown away. Her character grows along with the flashbacks and I just love what she is capable of doing with just a thought. I have never read about a character having the kind of power she has and it helps in not knowing what’s about to come our way. Mara has a demanding weight on her shoulders and she does whatever she can to handle it.
The plot twists were unbelievable… especially that one at the end. HOLY GODS!!!! CLIFFHANGER to the max I’m telling you. This book ripped tears out of my eyes and had my heart pounding with infinite suspense. I will not be able to get this book and the wonderful characters in it out of my mind!
Talking about wonderful characters, cue in Noah Shaw… that guy. Oh, jeezus. I know why people are going crazy over him now. That guys is definitely not who he seems to be and his character adds so much depth to the story, I love it! And also, the things he does and says with that mouth are amazing… Anyway, that guy definitely deserves a top spot in every book bofriend list. Including mine.
AHH!! I need the nest two ASAP!!

5/5 stars!

2 responses to “Review for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin!

  1. I enjoyed these books, as well. I lent the first two to my sister, who loved them as well. She found an autograph copy of the third book and was so excited about it. It’s fun being able to get excited about books together with her. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

