Review for Facade by Emem Uko

25947226

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first book by Emem and I am sad to say that it wasn’t for me at all.
The fact that a heavy dose of insta-love occurred in this, prevented me from connecting to the characters and all around liking them. I enjoy the thrill of a pursue of a relationship. I don’t like being slapped in the face with it. I understand the story is short but the pacing could have been executed a little better in my opinion. It had great potential but… again, not or me.
I didn’t like this couple together. They said they were amazing and brought out the best in each other but it was just words. Nothing proved it, at least not to me, and their actions were just… bland. I didn’t experience the depth I look for in relationships.
I absolutely did not like how the main character worried sooo much about her appearance. At one point she actually mentioned how she was happy that she wasn’t ugly while being on the arm of a handsome man… uhm…
Granted, this man is 23 and she is 17. I didn’t mind the age gap, because it happens in real life, but I just didn’t feel any chemistry between the two. I didn’t connect to anyone and I didn’t believe anything I just read.
I’m sad to say that the main character left an incredibly shallow and superficial impression on me.
Anyway, thank you so much Emem for the copy, I wish I could have liked this.

1.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

