Review for This Beautiful Curse by Kris Johnston!

27253055

*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*

“Welcome to your nightmare.”

This is the first work I read by Kris and I will tell you now, it won’t be my last! This book is more like a long poem and I didn’t expect to love it so freaking much!
The author describes this as a Gothic fairy tale and a children’s book but for adults.
I agree completely! This poem spoke to my devotion to darker topics and creepiness. This isn’t necessarily creepy in a horror sense, but in the eerie way that the words resonate and crawl into your mind, burrow into your soul, and force you to become what the poem is speaking about.
Some of us readers, like me, don’t even need to be forced. We have already gone through the situations that are explained throughout and we experience a whole new level of heartbreak and despair by being reminded of it. I found myself crying through the entire thing… It was an interesting and unforgettable experience.
I love this so much that I will re-read it for many times to come. (As soon as I own it in physical form, because I need to touch it.) The illustrations are phenomenal and definitely add more to the dark ambiance already provided by her words. I will one day frame every page and hang them all around my room. I honestly loved this that much.
Kris has a natural talent to breathe any form of life into rhymes and I am looking forward to similar works by her. Maybe even frame them too!
I recommend this to everybody who loves to read darker works. You won’t be disappointed!

5/5 stars!

2 responses to “Review for This Beautiful Curse by Kris Johnston!

Leave a Reply

