Review for Male Nurse by Joe Kamm

25685266

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
Trigger warning. This book taps into the subject of addiction so I recommend caution.
This was the first book I read by Joe and I liked it a lot. I found it quick and easy to get through. The plot was intriguing enough to let me fly by this story.
I felt an immediate connection to the main character from the start considering I struggled with a not-so-healthy addiction in the past. I was flung straight into that main character’s, Jacks’s, mind and Kamm’s writing makes it effortless to experience the symptoms for ourselves. I felt like I was actually struggling with the main character’s addiction due to the way it was explained and it was surreal. Joe’s writing is brutally honest and I respect that a lot.
I felt some things happened a little too fast, completely forgetting about build-up but I didn’t mind. I was too interested in the story to care much about it.
The character development is incredibly realistic and I loved the roller coaster it became. It wasn’t pretty but that’s what I loved about it. Like I said, realistic.
There was no cliffhanger and I am always surprised when I stumble across a standalone. I do it so rarely that it’s an amazing experience when I do. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending, it made me giddy and so incredibly happy for the characters in this story.

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

