Review for The Prophecy by Madhuri Blaylock!

24840861

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

6. Epic. Final. Stars.
I have no idea where to start.
This trilogy has reached it’s fantastic end and I am still utterly depressed about it. I just finished this a few hours ago so it’s only reasonable that the devastation I experienced at every turn is still fresh in my heart. I gave up sleep for this and I don’t regret a single second of it.
I tried putting this book off for as long as I could but… I’m a masochist. I couldn’t leave it alone and I payed greatly for it. There was a moment (NOT LYING) where I seriously considered DNF’ing this book. Not because it was awful, no. But because it was ruining me. It was tearing me apart repeatedly with all of the agony written in every page and I couldn’t handle it. My brother was witness to that moment of my weakness. I don’t know how Madhuri is still sane after writing this because I know I wouldn’t be.
I can’t tell you how many times I was a sobbing mess and tried reading this through my tears. Of course, once she hit me with the last few chapters, there wasn’t a moment where I WASN’T crying.
This world was extraordinary. For lack of a better word. All of the thought put behind it… it still amazes me. I just can’t believe it isn’t real. I wish I could meet the main gang (Wyatt, Ryker, and Dev) but we all know that won’t be possible.
The character developments were phenomenal!! All of them have come so far and it’s difficult to not feel proud of all the things they’ve overcome. The multiple point of views added more depth and emotion to every character and it was hard not to respect them in their own way.
Ryker and Jools broke me apart time and time again, way before that ending did. I couldn’t read the word ‘Ryker’ without crying. Their relationship was so ugly and precious and perfect… You might think I’m crazy, but read the books and you’ll see how right I am.
I’m also a hardcore shipper of Wyatt and Ryker. Those two are my world. The things they said to each other… boy, I wish somebody would talk to me that way. GAH! How they can be so perfect for and to each other and not be together is beyond me.
Oh, right. Because of Dev. But I didn’t mind her since she wasn’t a damsel in distress. She was a killing machine and she has my approval in the happiness and love department. Her and Wyatt melted my heart often.
Also, just to have it in writing, Jools irritated and disappointed me to no end. I don’t like her, but I like her badassery.
Talking about not liking characters, I grew to despise a couple characters to the core of my being. I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again: Madhuri has created the most memorable and disgusting villains I have ever stumbled upon. It takes complete God-like power to make me experience such rancor towards a character but Madhuri achieved it. Twice. With Carter and Ava. They are the most disgusting duo that I am glad I will NEVER get to meet. I wish I had never read about them either but I’d be lying if I said that they weren’t crucial to the plot.
I loved the reports Madhuri scattered along the series. If they don’t prove my ‘realistic’ theory, then I don’t know what will. The sexuality and brutality in this book is three times what it started off as so I don’t recommend this to those under the age of 18. And this book is LOADED with emotional despair (it was for me) so I don’t recommend this if you aren’t ready to get your heart torn out of your chest, piece by piece.
There were SO many perfect quotes throughout this entire story and I would mention some but then I’d be writing the entire book in this review, so I can’t. I’ll let you experience them for yourselves.
Don’t let the covers fool you. They are so beautiful and simple but the plot is gruesome and devastating and as complex as a plot can get. This woman is epic. But thanks to her, I won’t be able to ever get this world out of my head. I don’t know what I will do without these characters but… I guess I’ll do it. Somehow. I’m left trying to pick the pieces left from this roller coaster of a gem and I know I won’t be done any time soon. (Chapter 21 was the death of me.)
If you haven’t read this trilogy, I don’t know what you’re waiting for. I NEED to talk to more people about this! I’ve already bothered Madhuri with my opinions along the way but now I want to bother readers too.
This was a most heart-wrenching, brutal, fantastic, and perfect ending to an amazing trilogy.

6/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

