Review for Melophobia by James Morris!

26252833

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

James, you have done it again!
This is the second book I have read by him and his writing just keeps getting better and better. I knew I was going to like this when I picked it up… but what I wasn’t expecting was for it to completely DESTROY me.
This book takes place in America but in an alternate history, where the government controls what type of music you listen to. There’s no rock n roll, jazz, EDM, and others. To listen to those types of music classifies you as a criminal and you could be punished in several different ways. All I can say is that I am so glad to not live in a world like this.
It is told in the third person which added a lot to the plot’s intrigue. We get short pieces of different pov’s now and then but it mainly focuses on Merrin and Anders, which I loved. I must admit, I was smitten with Anders in the beginning. But yeah, that changed. Want to know why? Read this book.
Every time I opened this book, real life faded away and I completely forgot about it. I want more of this story!
James, you have won the award for first male author to rip my heart to shreds. (How could you do this to me??) My eyes hurt right now, all because I cried myself to sleep last night. I can’t unread what this book threw at me and on one hand I am glad, because I loved it so much but on the other, I gave up a piece of me that I’ll never get back.
This is now one of my absolute favorite reads, ever. The plot line was intriguing from the start and Merrin’s character development was utterly amazing. My respect for her grew so much with every turn of the page. I was also rooting for her and a certain someone’s happiness with my entire being. Those two were so freaking perfect… My heart melted every single time they interacted!
I was enjoying the badassery that is Merrin… until James hit me in the face with those last few chapters. I couldn’t stop sobbing once I started reading them. It honestly took me a while to get through it since the tears kept getting in the way. I haven’t cried myself raw over a story in a long, long time. This was ten times worse my usual heart-break and I don’t know what to do. The plot twists were unbelievable and I am not done crying myself to sleep over this masterpiece.

6/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

