Review for A Mad Zombie Party by Gena Showalter

24893241.jpg

I have been dying to dive back into this world ever since I finished the third book a year or so ago, and wish I could have said that I enjoyed this but… I found out that I completely outgrew this series. That’s one of the saddest things that can happen to a book lover, at least in my opinion.
The dialogue whenever Alice and Kat showed up irritated me to no end. I gave a sigh of relief that this book didn’t focus on them but in Frosty and Milla. I loved those two together, so much that I feel like they’re my dirty secret. I don’t know why but it is what it is.
I feel like Gena was trying TOO hard to make this appealing for an even younger YA audience, but then the sexual scenes contradicted it. They were too steamy for a YA. I didn’t mind them at all but just stick to a genre. It was one of the worst experiences in my life. Also, NO villain in the history of VILLAINS says the word “goodie.” No, just no. Once I read that, I couldn’t give this more than 3 stars. Not happening.
This book took me a while to get into and I honestly only read the entire thing for the plot, not the dialogue. I saw some of the ‘plot twists’ coming a million miles away and the ending was acceptable I guess.
I feel bad for Frosty and Millie. As much as I am all for that relationship and as much as I looove their developments, I was frustrated more times than I could count. P.S.: Frosty is absolutely H.O.T. He was also one of the main reasons I stuck with this book.

3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

