Review for Winger by Andrew Smith!

11861815

Warning: This is one of the most painful reviews I’ve had to write yet.. I’ve had to stop a couple times in order to force myself to stop crying. I’m sorry If I may seem monotonous. I just can’t stop the pain.


So, as everybody knows, the hype for this book was/is unbelievable. As soon as I saw this on the library’s bookshelf I knew I HAD to read it. It was fate… and I simply HATE fate now. I’ll tell you why in a bit.
I read this life-shattering book in one sitting and I wish I hadn’t. I wouldn’t have been destroyed so soon if I hadn’t. The art throughout the pages gave this already amazing book an extra push into the extraordinary zone. Our main character, Ryan Dean, was a memorable character to follow. And so were his supporting characters: Joey, Chas, Kevin, Seanie, JP…
P.S.: I am a hardcore shipper of Joey & Ryan. I know Ryan isn’t gay but AGH, I wanted those two together more than I wanted to breathe.
I loved every single guy mentioned in this story. Their personalities were unique and suited each character so perfectly.
Except for two guys.
Two stupid, annoying, horrible, disgusting, and atrocious human beings can go through a meat grinder (slowly) and I wouldn’t blink. I’m so sorry for the gruesome explanation but they deserve that and more for destroying the happiness I had in me.
This book was so amazing and hilarious that my stomach hurt throughout the entire thing. But, reaching the end… my stomach, and everything else, hurt with another form of pain. The devastating kind. I didn’t see that ending coming at all and that was my downfall. As soon as I read THAT page (if you’ve read this, you know which one) my heart stopped beating for a second, my world was suspended in thin air for a couple more, before it came crashing down on top of me and ripping away the laughter I experienced before it. I couldn’t get the book far enough away from me and I had to stop for a while in order to cry it out. My eyes hurt from crying myself to sleep but they’re still crying over it. I lost a huge part of me in order to find out what the hype was about and unfortunately, I won’t be able to get it back. This book is just.. unforgettable. I need to own a copy now just so I can touch it and be transported back to when things were amazing. When there wasn’t a massive black cloud around my heart due to Andrew Smith.
I know… I KNOW these characters are all fictional… but I still feel like a complete failure. I feel like I have failed MY very own best friend and there is nothing I can do to make it up.
Winger is ridiculous, in the best way, but it still tore my happiness away. I feel like I am a zombie as I write this. I have lost my will to smile for a while and the tears won’t stop coming. Thank you Andrew for destroying every piece of me without a warning.

All the stars/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

