Review for I am Atlas by Ella Emerson

23359041

I won this book at a book event and the cover entranced me from the start. Sadly, I wasn’t as much of a fan of the story. I don’t know but I am not a fan of Ella’s writing. It felt… stiff and it was full of breaks that really weren’t necessary. It prevented the book from flowing. There were also grammatical errors which I wouldn’t pay attention to unless I can’t figure out what they’re trying to say. That’s what happened here, I had to skip some sentences because I couldn’t figure them out. It was stressful and painful to get through, at least for me. I didn’t connect to the characters at all and I found it predictable for the most part. I’m actually giving this a rating of 2.5 because the end definitely packed a twist I didn’t see coming. Unfortunately, I was too busy trying to get over this story that it was a ‘meh’ moment for me. I didn’t believe anything I read in this book and the characters didn’t have any depth to them. I didn’t believe the relationship between Atlas and Gwen. Their dialogue was superficial at best. All in all, I’m glad I gave this a try. I’m just not going to continue with the series.

2.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

