Review for Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway!

13132816

This. Book.
I loved it so freaking much!!!!! It was my first book by Robin and I am absolutely obsessed with her now! A new author has been added to my list and I couldn’t be happier!
This book had me smiling like a lunatic throughout most of it, except for the sad parts of course, and I am not even mad about my cheeks hurting because of it. The characters were so unbelievably realistic that it made me cry. Their pain and confusion was palpable through the pages and I
I LOVE Emmy!!!! She is hilarious and I respect her so freaking much. I was able to connect with her in so many ways but mainly, her parents. That includes Oliver and his parents as well. Oh, man. I would be lying if I said that their experiences with their parents didn’t hit close to home. Only difference is, mine will never change.
Talking about Oliver. His experiences and emotions show, with clarity, that the world isn’t always black and white. There are some people that get caught in the grays and there is nothing they can do about it but accept it. His inner struggle with his emotions and morals were heart-breaking. I cried for him and Emmy. I felt my heart going out to him every time we got to see just how much he was hurting for being put in a pace no child would ever want to be in.
I read this beautiful book in one sitting since I couldn’t put it down to save my life. It kept me laughing out loud and I was obsessed with the characters as soon as they were introduced. They complemented each other perfectly and I got a pang of jealousy whenever they were together. I seriously wish they were MY friends. They were so incredible and I miss them so much! I can’t wait to read more works by Robin and I don’t know, maybe come back to these characters?
Yeah, I know, fat chance. I can still hope though!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

