Review for I Was Here by Gayle Forman

18879761

This was my first book by Gayle and I wasn’t really impressed with the plot line nor with the characters.
Trigger warning: This book focuses a lot on suicide.
I wasn’t invested in the romantic side of this book. And that is a huge thing coming from me, the Romance Addict. I NEED romance in my books or I quickly lose interest. So, like I said. It comes as a great surprised that I could’ve gone without the ‘romance.’ I didn’t believe it for one second and I just felt like the main character basically stepped into her best friend’s life.
I would’ve had a lot more respect for her is she had built her own life on her own and with different people. I didn’t like for one second that she basically just picked up the life her best friend left behind.
This book turned out to be anti-climactic and there weren’t any plot twists that blew me out of my chair. Or none at all, not that I know of. If there were then I guess I saw them coming.
I was sympathetic toward the main character, for the most part, since I never want to be in her shoes but I could only feel so much. The main character wasn’t memorable. I already forgot her name which is why I haven’t typed it. I didn’t see a development in her, and if there was, then I guess it’s safe to say I don’t believe it. I felt the hatred inside of her but then again, I couldn’t get over the fact that she didn’t build her own life.
This book ended the best way it could, I guess.

3/5 stars.

2 responses to “Review for I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

