Review for The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

25263927

This book was super high on my anticipated reads and I don’t know if that was my downfall. It probably was but I really don’t know what to say about this book.
To me, this book was just… meh. I didn’t hate it nor loved it. It just didn’t make a huge impact on me. And nobody is more heart-broken than I am about it. I absolutely love Japanese folklore and I didn’t even know this book was about that until I started reading. So, when I found out that it was, I got pretty excited.
But then I met the characters.
I honestly have nothing negative to say about them except that I couldn’t connect with them in any way. They all led a completely different life than me so I just felt like there was a huge barrier in between us. Tark is extremely hilarious and he had me laughing more than anything but Okiku and Callie and everybody else were just… there.
The writing style is definitely unique and memorable but not the content. If that makes sense? The characters were also a tad difficult to follow but I think that was just me being unimpressed.
Anyway, I am so glad I finally gave this book a try and can cross it off my TBR list.

3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

