Review for Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo!

14061957

 

“This is what Ravka is. It made orphans. It made misery.”
YES!!
This series has redeemed itself!!!!!
After reading the last book, I was weary. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to keep reading but I kept being told that this book makes up for it so I plunged right in… and everybody else was right! Thank the saints!
I was annoyed with Alina for most of the series, so much that I didn’t care for he happiness but this book definitely changed my mind with that ending. It made my heart ache for her and I could feel her pain as if it were my own.
Mal. Oh, Mal. He owns my heart. It seriously hurt like nobody’s business whenever I saw him hurting, emotionally and physically. There were times that I couldn’t take it anymore that I kept putting it off. I caved in seconds later because a hurting Mal was better than no Mal at all.
And another character I am obsessed with is Nikolai!!! That man is a breath of fresh air. He iscrucial to the plot and without him, I am sure it wouldn’t ahve been as amazing. We get to see a side of him we rarely have the opportunity to see and it just makes him even more lovable.
Also, I don’t know why there is so much hype for the Darkling… I honestly did NOT care for him at all. I didn’t pity him nor did I root for him. He was just… there. He didn’t prove to me that he was the most lethal villain from them all, I have seen worse. He also didn’t prove to me that he was worth my pity. I loved him in the first book and I thought I was beginning to think why everybody is so obsessed with him but after that book, I never gave him a second thought.
This book was nothing short of intense, badass and wild! Secrets are uncovered and the characters go through more trials.
And that plot twist!!! I didn’t see that coming at all and it was more of a punch to the gut. I was so scared from the time it was revealed that I almost didn’t finish this because of it. I didn’t want to keep reading in case my deepest fear would come to be. I sobbed my eyes out and I had to take a long moment to compose myself before caving in and reading it to the end. This book shattered my heart but it definitely put the pieces back together and I will always love it for that.

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

