Review for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz!

12000020

 

“The problem with my life was that it was someone else’s idea.”

This was the first book I have ever read by Benjamin and I admit, I now see what the hype around this book was all about. I couldn’t stop smiling throughout the entire thing but it turned dark towards the end and it caught me by surprised.
This book follows a 15 year old Mexican boy, Aristotle. YES!!! There aren’t many Mexican narrators in YA and I am a freaking happy camper when I stumble upon one that does!! I found myself connecting with his character from the moment I found out he was Mexican since I am Mexican myself. But I found myself relating to his character in more ways that just that one. There were so many similarities between me and him that it was mind-blowing and it made it even more easy to relate to him.
I also shared a lot of similarities to Dante. I loved how he wasn’t afraid to be who he was, no matter what life threw his way. I loved his friendship with Ari!
The emotions I got from Ari were so raw and it made my heart break for him. I could feel his struggles as my own and he made me cry a couple times because of it.
This was an incredibly easy read. The chapters were short and I found myself reading it in one sitting. This is a wonderful coming of age story and it inspires you to not be afraid to be who you really are inside. To take that first step and never let life tell you you can’t. I would recommend this book to everybody, no matter their age.

4/5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

