Review for Smoke and Rain by V.S. Holmes!

25087088

 

 

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

“You’re worth all the pain of the fire you start, Alea.”

This was the first book I read by V.S. and let me tell you… I have found a favorite world to obsess over!!
There are maps (!!!!) that helped in keeping track of the characters and a diagram that helped keep track of the seasons they were in as well. I was introduced to new and difficult words but I loved every second of it!
The characters were incredibly well through out. It’s told in the third person so we get a couple of POV’s throughout it all and it was amazing how well Holmes kept track of them.

“The truth makes monsters out of our heroes.”

There is Alea, our main character, who is a survivor in every definition of the word. Her character development was magnificent and the best part is that it isn’t over yet! She has definitely stepped up to the plate for me and I can’t wait to see how else she grows into her new life. Her powers are also incredibly BADASS. I was speechless when I first read about her using it. It made me sort of (by sort of I mean definitely) jealous to know I will never have them as my own.
There is Arman, (my favorite!!) the 23 year old weapon designer who is also incredibly badass. His character development was spectacular. His world is also turned upside down and his struggle to keep a hold of his old life was palpable. My heart went out to him and I wanted him happy more than anything. I loved his POV’s so freaking much, it was borderline stalking for me. I love that man so much!! I need another fix of Arman sooner than soon! I didn’t know I was so attached to him until he suffered… then, I was a complete sobbing mess. Whenever he spoke… I was putty in his hands and I wanted to fling myself at the pages in the slight chance that he would catch me… Yeah, it was a heart-breaking moment when I had to remind myself he was fictional.
(It is safe to say that I wanted him to end up with Alea from the very start!!)
Then there is Bren. A soldier that is double-guessing his actions and who he should be following. Let’s just say that his actions definitely made me proud and I can’t wait to see more from him.
And then, there is An’thor. A badass warrior sworn to protect the Laen. His loyalty is never in question but he can definitely lie his way out of everything. I was bummed not to see more of him but something tells me that I will on the next book. Maybe. I can only hope!

“Often we learn the most when we’re uncomfortable.”

This book started slow for me and it took me quite a bit to get into. But after 100 pages, or so, everything started to pick up pace and I was hooked from then on. I couldn’t put it down to save my life and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. The plot line was incredibly unique and I found myself crying a lot. I loved how romance wasn’t such a huge part of the plot line but it still managed to keep me captivated. Holmes gave me a lot of the things I look for in a wonderful story and so much more. I saw some of the twists coming but there were also a few that I didn’t see coming at all.
The ending is still breaking my heart!! UGH! That sneak peek of the second book made it even worse; it tripled my sorrow. I seriously need more of this world as soon as possible because I am going insane!!
(I also found one of my last names in this so that made me freak out a little bit.)

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

