Review for I Chose to Die by Ksenia Anske

18361624

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*

“On the brink of death, I want to live like never before.”

This book follows Ailen, a 16 year old who is not happy with life. Since making the decision to commit suicide, her life is thrown upside down and she starts uncovering things along the way. I wasn’t a fan of her character most of the time. How she reacts to her father… I wanted to slap some sense into her!! At times she had the backbone I crave in a main character but most of the time, it was nowhere to be seen. And that, made me mad.

I absolutely DESPISE her father. He is psychotic and the worst type of human being imaginable. He disgusted me, to put it bluntly.

I loved the illustrations at the top of each chapter!!! Only thing I have to say about that is that they were sort of spoilers. If you don’t mind knowing what happens in the chapter then it isn’t much to think about. But, for me, I would’ve liked more mystery.

I saw quite a few things coming which didn’t make it enjoyable for me. I also felt this book to be a little… out of control. It just seemed everywhere and sadly, I didn’t really get anything out of it. There are too many unanswered questions so I shall continue reading the next two!

3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

