Review for Hugo & Meg by Lilliana Anderson!

26169069

*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*

Since the second these two characters were introduced in Zac & Evie, I have been dying to know more about their relationship!

These two are victims of a student/teacher romance and it got me curious to see how it would play out in the male’s perspective. Let’s just say that Hugo… has stolen and now owns my heart. His life story was utterly heartbreaking. My eyes burned every time I read from his POV. His passion for teaching was palpable which made this romance even more complex. He was dealt with one of the most unfair lives a man could have and it was painful for me to read his chapters. Only because I cared about him too much. His happiness was my obsession and when he was in pain, I broke inside. His heart is incredibly huge and he’s the very definition of a man. He put others before him, even when the others weren’t so great to him. I wanted to shout to the world how perfect he was but yeah, that would have been crazy.

Meg is a different story. I didn’t like her in the first book and this book didn’t do much to persuade me. I hated her before but this book mellowed me out to the point where she was ok. Not great, but okay. Don’t get me wrong, I understand where she is coming from concerning her relationship and family issues, but I still think it could have been resolved in a more mature way. She kept saying she was mature but her actions didn’t really convince me and I didn’t have much sympathy for her. Her retaliations were repetitive and I don’t know, a part of me didn’t want her to end up with Hugo because of that. BUT since Hugo was incredibly happy whenever Meg was in his life, I wanted the relationship to defeat the odds against them. Because of him.

This book starts before Zac & Evie’s timeline and ends after it. Because it started before and continued during, I felt like I wasn’t too into the story because I felt like I had read a good chunk of it, only now it’s in Meg’s perspective. But, when there were things that weren’t mentioned in the first book, I was transfixed. We get to see things that neither Zac or Evie had any idea were happening and it felt like a look behind the scenes.

I thought this was a bit of a case of insta-love but I got over that little detail really quick. The last part of the book was AMAZING!!!! I wish I could just reread it forever and ever. Ugh, so perfect! I couldn’t stop smiling for anything and it made me incredibly giddy.

As a couple, Zac & Evie were my favorite out of these two. But as a man, Hugo takes the prize a million times over. Oh, how I wished he were real. His pain hit me to the core and I wanted nothing else but to comfort him.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

