Review for Him & Her by Carey Heywood

17668976

This was the first book I have read by Carey and I fell in love with her characters right away.

This books follows Sarah, a woman who is her own boss and is about to go home for her brother’s wedding. This is also the first time she will be seeing her family in 7 years. Then comes in Will, her ex-best friend and ex-boyfriend. I loved these two together so much! They are such dorks that they kept me smiling and laughing at their antics.

Sarah’s family is absolutely amazing, especially her brother! They are so loving and loyal, it was hard not to admire them.

This is told alternatively in the present and the past. Both were incredibly intriguing, I didn’t know which timeline I loved best. The past made me insane with giddiness and the present made me nervous because I needed to know what happened to them!!

I found a lot of things to be repetitive and got in the way of my appreciation for the plot line. Also, one of my worst pet peeves as a reader is when a character sticks out their tongue at others. Who does that!? Especially when she is supposed to be an adult, a 25 year old. I couldn’t get over it and it happened more than a couple times. I definitely wasn’t a fan that Sarah cried A LOT either, hence the 3 stars.

3/5 stars.


17882781

This is the sequel to Him by Carey and I was ecstatic when I saw it was in Will’s POV. His side of the story made me appreciate the relationship between him and Sarah way more than she was able to.

This book starts in the past and continues on until the present. A little bit different than the first book but I didn’t mind it at all.

We read about memories that weren’t mentioned in the first book as well as some that were. I didn’t give this 5 stars because once it reached to the scenes I was already aware of, there wasn’t much difference so I was reading the same thing all over again. But. As soon as I go to the last part, I was smitten all over again.

I am seriously obsessed with Will!! Not in a I-want-to-steal-him-from-Sarah sort of way but in the he-is-such-a-wonderful-character way. He is hilarious, dorky, cute, and his love for those closest to him made my heart swell. He is plainly adorable and I loved how we read about what happens after the ending in Him. I was rooting for those two so much!

I need the next book so bad!! I NEED to know what happens to them, especially to Will because he is now one of my favorite male characters ever!

4/5 stars!

One response to “Review for Him & Her by Carey Heywood

  1. Pingback: ICYMI Author Spotlight: Carey Heywood! |

Leave a Reply

