Review for Them by Carey Heywood!

25403399

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
Will and Sarah make my heart melt!! Carey has done it again. I thought I loved these two before but I was wrong. I love them even more now.
This book takes place 3 years after the last book. Will and Sarah are struggling with their relationship and I cried my heart out with them. No matter how rough things got for these two, their love prevailed and it was the most beautiful thing to witness. Their relationship is definitely one to respect and look up to. I know I do! The way they are so in sync and bring out the best in each other. They way they would go through immense lengths to make the other as happy as they can be… How could I not love them together?
I found the story line to be a little predictable at times but I didn’t care one bit. These two are one of my favorite couples to date so whatever they do or say, you bet I will love it with all my being. I also loved the new characters we get to meet in this book. They had their own unique place and definitely helped the story move forward.
Can we just take a moment to appreciate what an amazing character Will is? His soul is absolutely incredible and stunning. He is one of the few male characters that I have fallen in love with their heart first instead of their body. Yes, I admit I can get a little shallow when it comes to male characters but anyway! The greatness of his heart kept taking me by surprise. Whenever I thought he was already the best he could be, he went out and proved me wrong… Never before have I been so happy to be wrong! Will makes my heart so unbelievably happy, it hurt to part with this story.
Carey broke me but in the end of it all, she mended me back together. If you haven’t read this series, oh you must do so soon! Can there please be more books about these two????
4.5/5 stars

Review for Sorceress by Claudia Gray

17234664

What the heck happened?!
I loved the first two books in this series and sadly this wasn’t the case here. Although I found it incredibly easy to fall back into the familiar story, I was not impressed by the characters nor the way things were resolved.
Since I knew this was the last book in the series, I was looking forward to seeing how good would prevail against evil… and it was the worst let down ever. I still don’t really know what the heck happened. It was too EASY. When it gets down to it, who in the world defeats evil without lifting a finger!? I am sorry but like I said, worst let down ever. It could probably satisfy a ten year old but since I’m not ten, then this is just bad.
This series is told in multiple POV’s and it honestly was not my cup of coffee (since I don’t like tea). I would have liked it to focus on one, or at most, two characters only. I grew insanely irritated with Verlaine’s POV. Nobody, especially me, cares about what you’re wearing every second of the day. Thank you very much, but no. The only person I found myself actually caring about was Asa and nobody else. Everybody else was just white noise compared to him.
This book was predictable, cliche, and the ending was okay, nothing special.
3.5/5 stars

Review for Lerewood by Andrea Churchill

25994736

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
This was the first book I’ve read by Andrea and I have to say, I love her way of storytelling. It made me feel like this was actually a bedtime story that’s a little in the darker side and I loved that. It had that lulling and comforting feel to it. At least in my opinion.
This book takes place in an isolated village in the middle of the woods that is forced into seclusion due to a creature haunting the forest surrounding it. If you step into the woods, you die.
I really loved the unique names Andrea used in this story. For example, the main character’s name is Uallas. It’s one of my favorite character names so far.
Although I was fascinated with the darker aspects of the story, I still couldn’t find a way to get attached to the characters. I didn’t mind them at all but I also didn’t love them. I absolutely loved that cliffhanger though. It wrapped up the bedtime story feel perfectly.

3/5 stars.

Review for Voice of Innocence by Lindsay Detwiler

25035147

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
This is the first book I have read by Lindsay and I can only give it 2.5 stars. It is told in both Emma’s and Corbin’s POV, alternating from past and present events. Corbin is the only reason why my rating is so close to 3 stars. This book took me over a month to get through for numerous reasons.
One being Emma. Oh my word, I did NOT like her one bit. In the present she is well into her 40’s but does she act her age? No. Whenever I got to past events told in her POV… I could not contain my anger and irritation towards her. She is honestly one of the most ungrateful characters I have ever read about. I wanted to get physically violent with her so much and I am not proud of it. Also, what she did in the end was unforgivable. If I had respect for her, the end would have made me lose all of it. Her actions were incredibly selfish now that she doesn’t have only herself to think about.
Corbin. Poor Corbin. He has to deal with a lot of nonsense in and out of his relationship with Emma. He tries so hard to be romantic with Emma but she never appreciates it and is always whining about something. I did not want them together due to her horrible attitude.
Even though I liked Corbin 100 times better than Emma, I still didn’t form a connection to any of the two. This was a case of insta-love and I couldn’t sympathize with them in any way so I wasn’t invested in their story. I felt like these characters felt TOO sorry for themselves and it made me want to roll my eyes at them more than anything. It got old really fast.
I didn’t like how the story didn’t give me the details I look for in a good book so I could envision the story better. But in this case, it’s fine since I wasn’t invested.
From the very beginning this book had too much foreshadowing. I grew to hate the end of each chapter only because I knew there was going to be a paragraph foreshadowing all the bad that was about to happen. Once again, they felt too sorry for themselves! It is so incredibly obvious about it too that once the other shoe dropped, I was just waiting to reach the end of the book and get it as far away from me as possible. It wasn’t mysterious, it basically told me what was going to happen from the very beginning. I’m not a fan of the way this story was executed at all.

2.5/5 stars.