Review for Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan!

7741325

“This notebook is a strange instrument – the player doesn’t know the music until it’s being played.”
I am so freaking unbelievably glad to have bought this book. This is one of the books that makes me a proud reader. One of the reasons being that this book begins on December 21st, a day before my birthday!
This story is told in both of Dash and Lily’s POV and for the longest time, I couldn’t choose who my favorite was. They both had an amazing sense of humor that caught me by surprise at how new it was for me. They were, to put it mildly, incredibly unique. But… if it came down to it and I had to choose, it would be Dash. Of, course. His humor and beliefs matched my personality perfectly.
Lily is absolutely and undeniably adorable. She is as nice as they come, reads, and loves anything and everything Christmas related. I loved witnessing her interactions with her brother the most since he was as hilarious as she was, if not more. There was a particular part of the book where I wanted to strangle the living daylights out of her, but only because I loved her and she disappointed me beyond belief. She redeemed herself in the end though.
Dash is a sarcastic dork and of course, loves books as well. (Since this story begins in a bookstore.) He isn’t a fan of Christmas but he puts his feelings aside since he isn’t afraid to take a dare. His point of views brought the most laughs out of me and he always kept me on my toes. I never knew what he was going to say or do next and I loved it with all my being.
The events these two went through were hysterical and ridiculous, in the best way. I wanted them in my life so bad, just to hear the crazy stories they would be able to tell me. Still do. What I found even more admiring, was that these two made me forget their age. They are teenagers but didn’t act with the immaturity that comes with that title, so it made me think of them as if they were a little older.
The similarities these two had overlapped and it made me giddy with happiness every time they did. But, as similar as these two spectacular characters are, they are also incredibly different.
This book made me laugh and smile until it hurt and I couldn’t do anything else.
“I love a man who doesn’t let go of the leash, even when it leads him to ruin.”
I’ve never, ever, ever, in my experience as a reader, read a book with a story line like this one nor the characters like these. Once again, I am so freaking proud to have been united with this book. I might have to make it a tradition to read this book every year. And by might, I mean I will. After being forced into a book hangover a couple days ago, I am so glad I read this. This book brought so much joy into my life when I needed it the most and I can’t wait to dive back in someday soon.
This story was something I didn’t know I craved and for that, I will recommend this book to everybody I meet from now on. Dash and Lily are unforgettable and I live for the day that these two authors will get together and revisit these two characters again. Even if they don’t, the hope of it is making me unbelievably happy.

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

