Review for Sawyer Says by Carey Heywood!

20555957

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
“… That every moment I wasn’t telling her I loved her, I was betraying her.”
Oh, how I love Carey!!!! I fell in love with all of her characters the second I met them on the first book in this series, Her, and my love for them has only duplicated every time I read another part of their journey. I’ve been dying to read more into Sawyer and Jared’s relationship ever since Her and this book blew me away. It gave me everything I wanted out of it, and more.
This story is told mainly by Sawyer, but there are 1/2 chapters in between that are told in Jared’s POV. I honestly loved the structure of this story. It was unique.
Sawyer’s personality was radiant. Knowing how she grew up was saddening but it made me respect her even more as a character for turning out so amazingly. Family secrets were uncovered and my heart went out to her multiple times. She’s an independent woman who’s afraid to love due to her past and her character development was amazing.
Jared was phenomenal. His lines were P.E.R.F.E.C.T.I.O.N.!! Every line I highlighted came from him and I have no shame in admitting it. I felt like I didn’t get enough of him (I never will) but that’s just me being demanding. He was the complete package. Patient, passionate, honest, caring, and everything in between. His past shattered me to pieces. Whenever he hurt, I hurt in return. His tears were blades to my heart and I didn’t know how much I could take.
After reading from his POV, I don’t know who I love more. Will (from Her and Him) or Jared… I won’t choose. They are both incredibly well thought out male characters and I have Carey to thank for that.
I loved how both Sawyer and Jared did things on their own instead of solely depending on the other. Their relationship was healthy and honest and it brought tears to my eyes. The steamy scenes were incredible and the ending was as sweet and unforgettable as they come. I miss all of these characters so much already… If it were up to me, I would follow these characters until the end of time.
I also have to say that I was deeply touched by a particular quote in this book. When it was revealed, I felt like I was punched in the gut. How five words can make someone rethink their entire lives is beyond me, but Carey managed to do so effortlessly. It’s rare when a quote tears me out of a fictional world and into my own reality but this did it:
“Be unselfish with your love.”

4/5 stars!

One response to “Review for Sawyer Says by Carey Heywood!

  1. Pingback: ICYMI Author Spotlight: Carey Heywood! |

Leave a Reply

