Review for Caligatha by Matt Spire

27829790

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
“If anything was immortal it was death.”
This book appealed, straight away, to my love for a darker story. The horror aspects were so fascinating and came as a surprise to me. It was gory, and I was in awe most of the time since I knew next to nothing about the story when I started reading. The premise of this book was intriguing to say the least. The entire plot line’s built on tragedy and that is the mood I experienced from cover to cover. It was oddly satisfying.
I loved the different POV’s we experience throughout the story. The main ones, in my opinion, were Eric, Jericho and Lydia. I always looked forward to Jericho’s POV the most. The things Eric’s POV drew attention to about Jericho were contradicting to what I saw in Jericho’s own POV. It was a mystery and I loved not knowing what to expect out of Matt. I loved the structure of this story. The plot twists were amazing and Matt’s writing style made it easy to picture what was happening in my head. It was easy to follow and I felt lulled by the ambiance.
The only reason I didn’t give this book 4/5 stars was strictly my fault. I’m clueless whenever advanced scientific terms are used and due to this book being dark sci-fi, I was confused most of the time. It was difficult to follow and I also couldn’t relate to the characters, partially due to my previous reason. Even if I didn’t connect to the characters, I was still intrigued by whatever happened to them, especially Jericho.

3.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

