Review for Just Breathe by Martha Sweeney

25985687

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This book picks up right where book 2, Breathe Out, left off. Breathe Out ended with an intense cliffhanger and I was dying to know what happened. There were some unique concepts introduced through the story and I absolutely loved the plot twist!! I didn’t know I wanted the story to go the way it did until it hit me unexpectedly.
I loved watching the character developments of not only Joe and Emma, but also their friends and family. I could feel their love and loyalty towards one another through out the pages, which is something Martha never failed to be able to do in any of her books. I felt like a proud parent whenever they achieved something, either in their personal lives or their professional ones.
The only reason I didn’t give this more than 4 stars was because of Emma. I did not enjoy her antics as much in this book. They always rubbed me the wrong way and I just wanted to get violent with her more than I wanted to get affectionate. I grew tired of her threats and the dialogue was super repetitive. I would’ve liked for them to get to the point instead of evading so much. I also felt like everybody was a little TOO interested in their relationship; it felt like that was all they talked about.
My fours stars are strictly for the perfection that is Joe! He made me cry so much and his happiness made me happy. He’s incredibly patient; I know I would have NEVER been half as patient with Emma. He made me so proud and the ending was super satisfying. I am more than happy with how Martha tied loose ends and it left me smiling like a lunatic. I am already missing Joe so much!

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

