Review for Reluctant Sacrifice by Kerr-Ann Dempster

26063382

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was the first book I’ve read by Kerr-Ann and I was pleased for the most part. The chapters were short which made it easier to get through and something kept me flipping the pages even when I was supposed to stop for the day. I loved the premise of this story. I don’t think I’ve read about about a character that can Jump into different bodies before which made me appreciate it. I also absolutely loved how Kerr-Ann wasn’t afraid to be brutal and merciless. She didn’t sugar coat anything and she put her characters through hell.
But that’s where things start to go sour for me, they felt anticlimactic.
In my opinion, Coy overshadowed every other character in this book. Including the main character. He was the only one I actually like but I was still indifferent to his pain. If this book was told from his perspective… I would have loved it ten times more. I did not like the main character one bit. She lacked the backbone I look for in a heroine and all of her actions were impulsive and just wrong.
The reason why I didn’t give this more than 3 stars was because I wasn’t emotionally invested in the characters and I felt the story line dragged too much for my liking. I want action and badassery in every turn but this was… calm. For a book involving magic, it was rarely used and I wasn’t satisfied with how the story was resolved or executed. I also did NOT like all the sexual talk. The sexual comments were incredibly necessary and didn’t add anything to the plot line. If this were a contemporary or NA romance, I would’ve let it go but this is fantasy. There are far better topics to talk about, things to explain, and I just didn’t like any of it. I felt the dialogue was too juvenile (even from the adults) and it kept rubbing me the wrong way. The love triangle also didn’t cut it for me and that’s saying a lot since I am enamored with love triangles. I didn’t believe any of it and honestly, I could’ve done without it.
All in all, I am glad to have given this book a chance and I loved discussing it with a group of wonderful people on Instagram!

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

