Review for A Heart on Hold by Sara Barnard

15929672

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first book by Sara, and I loved her character-building. This is a historical romance that takes place during the 1860’s and it focuses mainly on Charlotte and her beau, Sanderson.
I was smitten with Sanderson from the very beginning. That man said the most perfect things that I was jealous of Charlotte for a little bit. They were the most adorable of couples and I never wanted anything to get in between them. It was difficult to follow their story since he was a soldier in the war and the consequences are terrifying. Sara managed to capture the heart-break and sadness of being in love with a soldier so well that I found myself tearing up at their goodbyes as if I were the one saying them. We also get to look into some of the letters that they wrote to each other while being separated; it was a special treat.
I also enjoyed the look into another couple. I won’t tell you who because of spoilers but I can saw that I was a fan of learning about a new culture. I always have a soft spot for gypsies but I wasn’t as invested in this romance as I was with Sanderson and Charlotte.
There was a cameo from a famous person that lived back in the day and it was a nice addition. This story wasn’t pretty due to the sicknesses running around this time and it gave a more realistic touch to it.
The reason I didn’t give this more than 3.5 stars was because there were a few things that I wasn’t really sure what to think of. Since this was told in the third person, it lacked the suspense we would’ve had if it were told in the first person. We knew exactly where all the characters were and whenever the plot line was meant to be heart-racing, I didn’t think much of it due to the fact that I knew the character was fine. Some of the dialogue was a little… off, but I refused to dwell on them. Also, was page 198 supposed to be incomplete? Because mine was and I didn’t know if it was on purpose or not.
That ending was the best! It was bittersweet but sweet nonetheless and I was all smiles a while after reading it.

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

