Review for Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen!

23009402

“You only really fall apart in front of the people you know can piece you back together.”
It’s been quite a while since I’ve picked up a Sarah Dessen book and ever since I saw this book going around the book community, I was intrigued. I mean a carousel in the cover??? I love anything and everything circus/carnival-y so seeing a ride on the cover had me sold. Don’t get me wrong, the carousel does make an appearance but if you didn’t already know, this is not a circus-y book. And I liked it anyway. This story captivated me enough that it made me forget real life. I read it in one sitting.
The characters were realistic to me, especially Mac. He’s so sweet and I loved seeing him interacting with out main character. He’s respectful, protective, thoughtful, smart, and dependable. He always made me smile when he did things for those he loves.
His sister, Layla, was also a wave of fresh air. She’s the best friend we all aspire to have. She’s protective and loyal, exactly what Sydney needed.
Our main character, Sydney, has to navigate life as the sister of a prisoner in jail. This tremendous weight dropped upon her and her family had a lot to do with her feeling invisible her entire life. This book follows her journey as she finds her self-worth and meets people who saw it before her. I actually felt her struggle and I was incredibly scared for her when it came to a particular male character invading her space. Because of that sketchy character,my stomach kept twisting painfully. I was scared to reach the point of no return while at the same time wanting to devour every word as fast as I could. I really wished she would’ve spoken up more but all character developments aren’t the same and I was proud of her by the end anyway. Also, I really didn’t enjoy her parents at all, until the very end, of course.
I loved that this book didn’t include insta-love or love triangles. I mean I love triangles but I know that wouldn’t have fit anywhere with this plot line. The pacing was perfect and I was invested in Sydney’s growth.
The reason why I didn’t give this 5 stars was because of one reason and one reason only. The ENTIRE book I was waiting for ONE thing to happen and it so happened to be our little cliffhanger. Ugh!!!! I was not amused and I couldn’t get past it. I need an extra chapter or something in order to give this one more star. All in all, I enjoyed it a lot.

4/5 stars!

