Review for Order of Seven by Beth Teliho!

24994112

*Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*
“What matters is not what our story is, but rather that we have one.”
This was the first book I’ve read by Beth and I fell in love with it from the start. The premise was so unique and it was a treat to experience. I was invested in the story less than 2o pages in. Every moment I spent away from this book was torture since all I wanted to do was get lost in it again. There are a mixture of cultures and we got to unravel secrets of our main characters as we go.
Our main character, Devi, is a psychic and her brother, Nodin, is an empath. Their journey was intriguing. I loved the dynamic of their relationship so much, they sort of reminded me of my brother and I. They are close siblings and I felt the love between them and the others characters. The relationships between all of them were deep and meaningful.
Talking about Nodin, he has to be one of my favorite characters of all time. One of the reasons is that even though him and I look almost completely different on the outside, we battled and are battling similar demons. My heart is breaking just thinking about him and reliving the things he’s gone through. He made me cry so much; I wanted to reach into the story and hug him. I wanted to make his pain go away but I was extremely proud of him in the end of it all.
I felt like the relationship between Devi and her brother’s friend, Baron, escalated too quickly for my liking. Their interactions always made me giddy and I got over the insta-attraction early on since there was a reason for it. But other things, I couldn’t really get past. I will say though, that Baron is H.O.T. Jesus. Christ. That man managed to make me uncomfortable in my severe attraction to him. I don’t think any other male character has ever made me feel that way before so kudos Beth!
I felt like the resolution was anti-climactic for me. I would’ve loved a tad more conflict/chaos at the end but all in all it wasn’t disappointing. I loved the writing style even if I managed to find it a little predictable. There wasn’t any sugarcoating or overselling in Beth’s agenda and I loved that. I honestly can’t wait for the next adventure!

4/5 stars!

 

3 responses to “Review for Order of Seven by Beth Teliho!

Leave a Reply

