Review for Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern!

18599754

This was my first book by Cammie and I. Loved. It!
This book follows Amy and Matthew during their senior year in high school and on. They both have fears to face and overcome before the thing between them can work and it was a rough road to take in. They are put into situations where a weaker person would’ve given up.
Amy is disabled and I loved that she didn’t let it turn her into a shell. Her humor shined and it made me super happy. I loved watching her help her best friend who is a peer that helps her get through the school day…
In comes Matt. He is her peer and that is where their story starts. My heart went out to him time and time again. He has his own disability and it hurt seeing it eat away at the person he really is. His humor had me laughing more often than not and his loyalty to Amy warmed my heart to the point where I thought it would explode. It’s safe to say that he is my favorite out of this story. Not because he’s a guy, but because I felt like he opened up more than Amy did and I grew so attached to his pain and sorrow that in his moments of happiness… they were a miracle to me.
This was like nothing I have ever read before and I loved every moment of it. The sad part about loving a book is when things aren’t going the way you want it to. And this book is guilty of that. I was heart-broken by the unfairness of their situation and the selfishness of a particular character!! I kept crying my eyes out since this story took a hold of my heart immediately and has yet to let me go. I wanted these two wonderful beings happier, more than anyone. I want to be optimistic about that ending but I don’t know if I have a reason to.
Cammie explained things so beautifully that I was swept into their shoes. I felt like I was the one going through what these characters were and it was scary at times. I read this in one sitting and if I could turn back time and read it again, I would. I miss Matt so much, it’s ridiculous.
The plot twist hit me pretty hard, which is surprising. I usually, in the back of my mind, yearn for this exact plot twist with every character I read about but somehow I was too invested in this story to think about it. Until it hit me in the face. I loved witnessing Amy and Matt handle the situation in the best way they could. I would have written a completely different ending but hey, too late now. Can Cammie write a sequel PLEASE!?!?!?! I miss these characters so much it isn’t even funny. My heart hurts just thinking about them. I want to know more!!
4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

