Review for Encender by J. Kowallis!

27429956

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This is the sequel to Afterimage and I can’t tell you how in love I am with this series and Kowalis’s writing. I figured out that I hadn’t learned my lesson from book one; I wasn’t prepared for the dose of brutality this book brought into my life. The brutality was doubled but I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t love every moment of it. There was so much suffering and this is a world I would never in a million years would like to be a part of.
This story follows a different set of characters that are impossible to not fall in love with. Don’t worry guys, we also get to see characters from Afterimage!! The supporting characters in this book were as amazing as the main characters and that’s a hard thing to master. I bow down to Kowallis for making it seem to effortless.
Our main character, Ransley, has the power to control fire, as you can see on from the beautiful cover. She was taken in and raised as a child by a former fighter, Estefan, and follows in his footsteps. There is where she meets Roydon…
I have to point out that Roydon is my new obsession. He’s a fighter in every definition of the word and his heart made mine melt. The things he had to go through were so unfair, it made me angry. It’s making me angry just thinking about them now. His actions and words were always perfect. I admit to being jealous of Ransley a couple times.
There are also some disgusting and horrible people in this world that I will not mention because they don’t deserve it.
I LOVED how there were Mexican characters in this story. I can’t get over it. Kowallis made my heart sore to new heights with that detail. I always yearn to see my ethnicity in a story since not many authors I’ve read do so. It’s books like these that make me so unbelievably proud of being bilingual. I don’t know if the finished copy does, but I wish it had translations. I didn’t need them but not everybody is bilingual so that would be a great help.
The thing about this amazingly horrible world is that the more you find out, the more you want to know. Especially after that ending!!! UGH. Jesus, woman. Can you destroy us more!? Just kidding. Forget I asked that. I know you can. I can’t tell you how many times I cried over these amazing characters. I absolutely despise everything they have to go through in order to reach freedom and ultimately, happiness. That ending is killing me and I NEED the next book in the series. I am driving myself crazy in all this denial!!

5/5 stars!

 

2 responses to “Review for Encender by J. Kowallis!

  1. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: Duality by J. Kowallis! |

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour: Afterimage & Encender by J. Kowallis! |

Leave a Reply

