Review for Starting Fires by Makenzie Smith!

23600066

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was the debut, and first book I’ve read by Makenzie and I became a fan instantly.
This book follows Marlowe, a woman that needed a change of scenery so goes to live with her best friend and his roommate. Her relationship with her family made me very sad. It resonated with me in a way and it was rough to experience.
Then she meets Lucas, her neighbor and a friend of her best friend’s. Their relationship picks up from there and I was completely enthralled. Whenever these two argued, their words felt like physical blows to my heart. They made me tear up a lot. I sort of felt like Lucas didn’t work too hard to get Marlowe’s attention. I wanted him to work for it!! But I grew to love them together anyway. I wasn’t quite a fan of the back-and-forth between these two but I quickly got over that as well. Their happiness made me giddy and the steamy scenes were off the charts.
This book was a little on the thick side but I felt none of it. I was hooked from the start and I felt like this group of friends was my own. I grew attached to all of them and devoured every speck of information from their lives with pleasure. I couldn’t put the book down and refused to do it.
Of course, there is one particular character that pissed me off beyond belief. I wanted them to get what they deserved SO BAD and although they did, I would have gone a tad physical about it. But that’s just me.
Anyway, Wally was my absolute favorite character of this book. He stole the spotlight every time he spoke and had me hysterically laughing too many times to count. He made me have to stop reading because I was laughing so hard and couldn’t concentrate.
This book made me feel a lot of things. The characters angered and disappointed me, but only because I wanted the best for them and they didn’t always act like they should be acting. It was a roller coaster of emotions but I want more!

 

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

