Review for Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler!

5231173

Disclaimer: I read this book in the midst of a severe book hangover. It was one of those that has you walking around completely hollow, raw, exposed, and bursting into sobs out of nowhere. I don’t know if it was the fact that my emotions were so intense and it enhanced my experience that made me love and ache for this book so much, but all I know is that I am glad to have read it and my feelings towards a certain character will never change, hangover or not.
I wasn’t even 20 pages into this book and I was already crying my eyes out. Every word hurt so much and that’s exactly how the rest of the book went. The characters couldn’t think or speak a certain name because I was a mess and had to stop in order to cry it out before picking it up again. Also, I think this book was so intense and brutal on my emotions since it touches upon a super sensitive topic for me. It’s my ultimate fear and seeing it play out was just… awful.
The main character, Anna, and her best friend go to California with her family for the summer a year after a major tragedy hit them. During this summer vacation they are forced to meet their emotions head on and it was a bumpy ride. One thing I do have to say is that I didn’t believe her summer fling for one second. She got obsessed with the guy not even 24 hours after meeting him and it was just… nope. I mean the guy was absolutely amazing and sweet but when it came to them together, I didn’t believe it.
I really loved how we get to meet a character although they aren’t there in the physical sense. I ate up every single detail about them and I unashamedly want more.
What I didn’t like was that the synopsis carries THE BIGGEST SPOILER EVER!!! Why in the world would you say that?!?! Just… WHY!?!? No. NO. The only reason I let it go was because I completely forgot about it by the time I picked this up. Still, not everybody forgets everything like me so if you can manage it, don’t read the synopsis please.
I really need to own this book ASAP as a tribute to an amazing character who didn’t get to live long enough to experience the romance they so deserved. This book is unforgettable and has one of the best friendships I’ve read about. I’m super glad for the way the things ended but my heart will always be broken because of this.

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

