Review for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith!

7108001

This was the first book I’ve read by Seth and I have to say, I am massively impressed. I was awe-struck by all of the amazing quotes swimming around in this novel. I would have written them all down, but let’s face it, I would have been rewriting the entire book.
I usually stay away from historical fiction because it intimidates me and mainly, I have no admiration for it but this book was epic and I am so glad I have it in my collection. I loved how history came to life with an incredible supernatural twist. We got to meet important people from our history and I admit, I was awe-struck by quite a few. They each had an important role to fulfill in Abe’s life and I was impressed by how Seth made it work. Nothing was without its purpose and I loved that.
I read this with my amazing friend, Eileen, from Instagram and we both decided that it wasn’t weird that we were crushing so hard on Abe. So, no judging. We have a perfectly good explanation, I swear.
This story showed a badass side of Abe that I loved watching in the movie as well. We got to follow him from his childhood to his adulthood and it was fantastically difficult to witness. His life was FULL of grief and hardship that it took a toll on me. I mourned deeply along with him and I cheered at his accomplishments. I cried every time something horrible and unfair happened to him, which was pretty often, because I felt like it was a personal blow to ME. I witnessed his struggle to believe in God after everything in his life turned out to be a lie and it moved me to the core. I’m not religious at all but I sympathized with him so much. I felt like life kept tearing down an important person in my life and I don’t think I would have been half as strong as he was in dealing with it.
Talking about crushing on a character, my other crush other than Abe, was Henry. I can’t write this review without mentioning that perfection of a man. He’s Abraham’s friend and might I say, protector? He is exactly what I look for in a man that has lived to see so much hardship and he intrigued me to no end. I believed the love and appreciation he had for Abe with everything I have. It made me so proud that Abe had a friend like Henry in his corner, cheering him on throughout it all. They worked fantastically well together and it was beautiful to see Henry be there for Abe whenever he was at his lowest. All of that and without being asked. I mean, how much more perfect could he be? They’re both incredibly loyal men and I can go on for years about their beautiful friendship, but I won’t. You will just have to witness it for yourself.
I loved the other men Abraham took under his wing as well. They were hilarious in their own right and they had me cracking up so much, I couldn’t breathe. The humor in the entire book was absolutely amazing.
I can’t compliment Seth’s writing style enough. It was fully intriguing, hopeful, but with a recurring undertone of despair. The life that Abe chose to live wasn’t a pretty one and we get to witness just how ugly it could get. I loved how there were little extra points on the bottom of some pages, further explaining things we were reading. I was a huge fun of the No Sugarcoating. This story was gruesome and violent, but it was amazing. Seth knows how to give you just enough information to have you begging for more. I loved the ending so much!!! It made me shout in joy after having my heart ripped out. From the very beginning, we all know how the story ends, but it still wasn’t easy to read through it. I was a complete mess but I can’t wait to read more by Seth!! Especially the book that follows the amazing and beautiful Henry!!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

