Review for The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin!

12950372

“… you will love him to ruins.”
Well, I have no idea what to say!! The first book ended in such a massive cliffhanger and now THIS?! You have got be kidding me Michelle…
If you haven’t read this series yet, then I suggest you have all 3 in your hands once you do because you will be going insane if you don’t. Just like I am. Seriously, you will thank me… I hope. I was so completely riveted that I didn’t even feel like this was 500+ pages. I read them all in one day and I didn’t feel any of it.
Of course, this book follows Mara Dyer, a girl with an amazing power if I do say so myself. Is it awful that I admire the heck out of it?! I don’t know. I just love the haunting aspect that it adds to the story. I also love, love, love, her relationship with her brother, Daniel. They are so close and their love for each other is palpable. They care so much about each other and have a close bond we rarely see in siblings. It reminded me so much of my relationship with my own brother and it was nice to see.
Talking about Daniel. We get to witness a side of him he rarely shows and it made my heart hurt so much. We get a glimpse into his mind and all I wanted was to take his thoughts away and soothe his soul. My heart broke so much for him.
Moving on to my beloved Noah Shaw. I swear, Noah had the BEST lines in this book. I had to write most of them down because I couldn’t help myself. Jesus. Christ. How could he get even more swoon-worthy than he was in book one?! I don’t have the answer to that question but all I know as that he did and boy did I love every second of it. That guy and his words drove me wild. We get to see into his mind as well and it also broke my heart. We have so much in common, and most of it isn’t even good.
I felt some things to be a little predictable and other things to be too easily resolved. I also grew a tad annoyed with her frequent black outs. C’MON GIRL!! STOP IT! I hope there is a perfect reason for them or I will be really mad. But even after all that, did it ruin my experience? Absolutely not!
Those last few pages left me in complete denial. NOPE NOPE NOPE, I REFUSE TO BELIEVE ANY OF THAT! I am still so confused with so many things!!! Michelle knows how to give information without actually giving it. If that makes sense? But yet, it intrigues you to the max. Throughout the entire thing, Michelle is telling us another story but I still can’t figure out what it is. The secrets are unraveling but there is still so much we don’t know and I can’t wait to find out!

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

