Review: Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

18667779

The hype around this book has been insane and of course, like any other reader, I wanted to figure out for myself why exactly that has been the case. I still think the hype sets people up for failure because this book did NOT meet the hype for me.
The main character was extremely naive and impulsive from the very beginning and I didn’t see that change whatsoever. I never, for one second, believed that she was ‘in love’ either. She made me proud a couple times but then there was usually something right after that made me roll my eyes at her.
This story was told in 3 parts and the only thing that kept me intrigued, that had to do with the main character, was her job- or internship. I could actually feel the passion she had for it, unlike everything else.
This book was diverse, yes, but it didn’t blow me away. The characters and most of the plot was just bland for me. I didn’t build any connections to any characters at all and that makes me sad.
The only characters that I felt myself somewhat looking forward to reading about were the main character’s brother, Toby, and her best friend. If this book followed those two instead, I would have rated it so much higher. The fact that I remember the main character’s brother’s name instead of hers says a lot of my opinion. I was all smiles at that ending but I am still ‘eh’ about it. All in all, I am glad I gave this a try and put my curiosity to rest. It wasn’t awful to get through so I give it that too.

3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

