Review: The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder!

13589139

This was my first book by Wendy and I have to say that I will definitely be reading more by her.
The moment that they mentioned fire dancing, which was on the first page, I was hooked and a goner. For those for you who don’t know, that is something that has been in my life for over a year now. I have my own set of fire fans and I love them. Anyway, the point is that I formed an instant connection and I was really excited about it.
The premise of this book and the adventures the characters took part in were unique to me. I’ve never read a book that took the turns this one did. Wendy’s writing is addicting. I only put it down because my eyes were hurting from sleep and demanded to be closed.
The main character, Cam, took quite a bit to grow on me but she did! I loved how she interacted with her family and it made me wish I had the easy banter with mine too. I laughed hard throughout it all even though the undertone was heart-breaking. I felt myself looking forward to her next witty comeback and I was incredibly proud of how strong she managed to act, all for her family’s sake. It made me love her that much more, even after her character development that was amazing. It made me burst with happiness for her and everybody else in this book. I strongly enjoyed following her during the best summer of her life.
Asher, the main love interest, was beyond adorable. I don’t know what to say about it other than he pleased me as a reader. He was exactly what Cam needed although-I am sensing a recurring theme here- it took me a bit to get on board with them. The beginning of their relationship was not my cup of coffee. It felt awkward and a little forced to me. I also needed a lot more detail. As in more interactions, more memories, more… just more. It made me sad since I liked them as individuals more than a couple, but by the end, once I forgot how fast it all started, I wanted them to stay together forever. I loved seeing Asher’s character development play out as well.
Some things were too easily resolved and gave me a strong unbelievable vibe, and not the good one. It took me a little bit to get over that fact, but I managed to do so since there were other things happening that demanded my attention more.
That ending tore my heart out. My heart ached with such ferocity and I won’t forgive Wendy for it. This book really makes me want to travel to Maine now. That’s another thing to blame Wendy for.

4.5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

