ARC Review: Deal Breaker by Whitney D.

27394569

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was the first book I’ve ever read by Whitney and it was absolutely not for me. We meet the main character when she starts her second year in high school and follow her from there. Nothing about her was fresh, at least not to me, and I didn’t grow to love her (or any other character).
I extremely disliked the fact that SO much of the story was told on the synopsis alone. It made me dislike the predictability of it that, unfortunately, didn’t stop. The ‘twists and turns’ were awfully predictable and nothing about this stood out to me.
I think this book would’ve had more success in reeling me if it were written into two and if I were given more foundation on the ‘first love’ relationship. I always want to WITNESS their moments together, their dialogue and quirks that makes them unique and that itself tell me WHY they fell for each other. I do NOT want to just be told that they happened and am supposed to believe it.
I also felt like the author was grasping at straws trying to build angst that could’ve been executed in a much better, and believable, way. I just felt like the fights in this story were pitiful/immature instead of angst-y. Yes, the story was steamy but it would’ve been mind-blowing if I at least believed that the characters were in love.

1/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

